5 Loaves & 2 fish

ImageThe Picture above was taken using a Sony Ericsson P1i on a Sunny morning in Malindi. I had just started getting facinated with photography and the only tool I had then was the P1i. It had a 3.2 megapixel camera nothing to write home about but I made the most of it. This and my first camera phone the Sony Ericsson W810i taught me the fundamentals of photography, which I am now applying in Cinematography.

In short what I am saying is the camera(or equipment) does not make the image(s) it only enhances, but the man behind the lens is the defining factor. My challenge to you today is, What do you have in your hands?? What are your 5 loaves and 2 fish?? Use what you have in hand and grow from there, Rome wasn’t built in a day. People will discourage you, put you down but as long as you have the conviction, the passion that drives you, practice and be good at what you do. Someone told me the other day that it takes 10,000 hours of doing something to be called a ‘Guru’ at it.

This post is dedicated to all the people who’ve encouraged me, constructively criticized my work, walked with me, gave me opportunities that would have otherwise been given to others and generally those who believed in my dream. To God for giving me creative talent, to Hermann N. Mwadime for encouraging me, mentoring and discipling me, to my Parents, My collegues Skah, Kitots, Nasara, to Skubi, to Kakunza, to Muts(remember the days of Daily shoot??) to all my friends, to all who follow my work and this journey that I’m on. Following your passion is not easy but its satisfying.

Cheers and God Bless!!

11 thoughts on “5 Loaves & 2 fish

  1. Bauss, this is one profound post… reminds me of how Jemedari was born… watch the space ahead. bigger and greater things to come.

  2. son, this is incredible, but you forgot your shangazi who makes your lovely pilau ha ha ha…. the amazing thing is that this foto reminds me of Peter and the waves…. it is so easy to get scared and loose faith…. thats what we are called to do …. to trust in the one who holds our future…. am glad you know Him..

Leave a Reply

